Far be it from me –

Judith Haire talks to Melisande Randall, autobiographical writer, from El Segundo, California

on June 13, 2012
 

 
I’ve been talking to fellow Chipmunka author Melisande Randall about her new book  Under The Invisible Umbrella

I asked Melisande, “What motivated you to search for or create resources related to having a parent with mental illness?”

Melisande: “For years, I had been writing about my experiences with my mother in order to work out my anger. I was in counseling for years and still go to therapy from time to time. After tossing nearly all my childhood journals for fear of their discovery, I wanted to write a book for a long time but always feared it would be viewed as DISRESPECTFUL to my mom and family. To speak negatively about my mom was always taboo, forbidden. Then, after she was diagnosed five years ago, it validated my feelings that nothing we went through in our childhood was imagined nor blown out of proportion. My mom was indeed a mood disordered parent. I felt I could share my experiences on Facebook while I wrote in order to validate my experiences and gain courage. I also wanted to have a voice to explain to people in my past, why it was I was always such an “odd” bird. My mom had raised a broken child who was simply reacting to her broken home.”

I asked  “What were your steps in creating resources that led you to use of the Internet and social media?”

Melisande:  “There were no steps really. I created my group “Adult Children of Parents with Schizoaffectifve and Other Mood Disorders” on Facebook and found other similar group also related to mental illness.  These groups were created by survivors, researchers, family members, advocates, etc and it was amazing to see how many people used this forum to share resources and living accounts and experiences. I went around to various groups and read their posts. Then I invited others from these groups to join my group. I ran into caregivers, professionals, survivors, and sufferers, many of whom became individual friends outside of the group. As people visited my site and shared resources, experiences and vented about “rough days”, the group took on meaning on its own.  Many of us counsel each other and help each other with words of encouragement and suggested readings and therapies that may help.”

I asked,  “What resources have you created?”

Melisande  “I wrote a short autobiographical piece to get through my anger and am now working on a more open and positive book which is a series of letters I began writing while training for the Los Angeles and Long Beach Marathons which I walked and completed. I dedicated each mile to a special someone in my life and it helped me work through things as I used the marathon and my training to REFLECT on how much I had to overcome with the help of friends, therapists, pets, and God of course.”

I am also featured on Crooked House nm which is a documentary style format on Youtube.com where myself and several others talk openly about our childhoods growing up and under a parent with a mental illness.  Crooked House is also a Facebook group and from there, you can find out how to read the blogs of its members on the Crooked House website http://thecrookedhouse.org/. 

Finally, although I have not created this resource, I learned about the Third Annual International Worldwide Congress on Children Living with a Parent with Mental Illness which took place in Vancouver, BC, Canada early this past May.  A group of colleagues from Facebook attended this conference and we met as a panel to discuss how social media has assisted in survivors finding one another and sharing stories.  Now hopefully, researchers and policy workers can utilize family experiences to steer intervention.  It was a very eye opening conference and I would ask that everyone keep a watch out for this yearly conference and try to attend.  Many academic/political presenters themselves were sons and daughters of the mentally ill and it is nice to hear from researchers and politicians who actually have first hand knowledge of such experiences in the home.”

Q: What has been the result of this effort?

The result has been my first REAL publication on Chipmunkapublishing.com…http://www.chipmunkapublishing.com .the mental health and well being resource based in London. They published my rough piece and edited it. Although short and introspective, it has given me a springboard to advertise our cause, those of us who overcame obstacles associated with mental illness in the home. 

 Links:

ADULT CHILDREN OF PARENTS WITH SCHIZOAFFECTIVE AND OTHER MOOD DISORDERS

FACEBOOK

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.437217944052.212299.560359052&type=3#!/groups/35021114281/

UNDER THE INVISIBLE UMBRELLA:  Surviving My Mother’s Mental Illness, Chipmunkapublishing

http://chipmunkapublishing.co.uk/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=2073

I am on Twitter @Melisandewrites. Would love to hear from others on this topic and more!

 
 
 

 
 

One response to “Judith Haire talks to Melisande Randall, autobiographical writer, from El Segundo, California

  1. I am on Twitter @Melisandewrites. Would love to hear from others on this topic and more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Policy Press Blog

Publishing with a purpose

Women Writers, Women's Books

Interweaving the Conversation, Deepening the Connection

Alan's Blog

Get what you need here.

Dr Goat's Blog

Putting hoof to keyboard to bring you views from the farmyard on public health, public mental health and related issues. And goats. These views are my own, and do not represent those of any organisations or endorse any political perspective - but whatever I'm eating may have been stolen.

Social Anxiety Revealed

the blog of the book

the free psychotherapy network

free psychotherapy for people on low incomes and benefits

An' de walls came tumblin' down

about writing and social anxiety

BeaconLit

The yearly literary festival in the heart of Buckinghamshire

Keeptheban- news

Campaigning to protect the 2004 Hunting Act

more follows

Because politics isn't just something that happens in the Palace of Westminster

the main offender

Tales of living with borderline personality disorder, working in mental health and all the bits in between.

sdbast

Just another WordPress.com site

sunnyclaribel

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

victimfocus

Exploring best practice and research in sexual violence. A loud voice in the fight against victim blaming. Written and Managed by Jessica Eaton, Doctoral Researcher in Forensic Psychology

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

Cortical Chauvinism

A site discussing autism related issues

Not quite curvy; definitely real

Tales of a mental mental health campaigner...

