Far be it from me –

Guest Post by Lynn C Tolson – On Growing Up Catholic

on February 29, 2012
On Growing Up Catholic

Adapted from Beyond the Tears: A True Survivor’s Story © by Lynn C. Tolson
Like many Americans of Italian descent, my family was of the Roman Catholic religion. My grandmother had statues of saints on her dresser, and a picture of the Pope over her bed. My mother prayed with me, on our knees, before bed: If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take. Our family activities were based on the religious calendar.
In parochial school, Mass was mandatory on Holy Days of Obligation. Each class marched single file to the church; nuns in habits led children in plaid uniforms. I learned words such as hypocrite and contradict and excommunication, and the language of the Catholic congregation: catechism, confession, contrition, communion, confirmation, and the rituals of the Catholic church: The stations of the Cross, the Cross on the Rosary, and the Sign of the Cross: In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. That included all the important people, but what category did little girls fall into? There seemed to be no place for me, so whenever I was in church, I never felt right or good. I always felt guilty, because, I’d been taught, we were born with Original Sin.
Confession was a real dilemma. What sins could an eight-year-old commit? Often I did not sin at all, but since Confession was mandatory, I invented sins, such as fibbing. To perform the rites of a good Catholic, I lied to the priest about how I had fibbed to my mother. How could premeditated lies be righteous?
When I could decide for myself, I realized that a religious rituals were not for me. Some people feel stifled by institutions and some use church just to gain status. Religion may be a source of strength to others. The principles of religion, such as The Golden Rule or The Ten Commandments, serve to instill love. What if traditional religion had no significance to me? Would I live without love?
I learned that there is a difference between religion and spirituality. The main premise of spirituality is the belief in a Higher Power. With spirituality, humans attain an awareness that acknowledges the soul because we are intrinsically spiritual beings in human form. I once thought the soul hovered above or around the body, but not quite in it. Then, I learned that the body is a vessel for the soul to inhabit. The soul is the essence of love as it manifests in the world.
God’s love (your personal vision) is alive and present in your soul. Our spiritual connection is our unity with God, and the love of God in the universe. Every soul finds redemption as a child in God’s family because love is perfect and pure within all of us.
Spirituality took on a new meaning, not as a means to get to Heaven, but as a way to get through each day on earth. It was a relief to learn that I’m not a heretic without hope of redemption. The love of God is not reserved for special people who perform certain acts. Love is not a matter of deserving. No list of accomplishments is needed to earn love. There is a purpose to life, which is as simple as experiencing love and extending that love to others.
Scan.jpeg
2 responses to “Guest Post by Lynn C Tolson – On Growing Up Catholic

  1. Lynn Tolson says:

    Thank you for inviting me to guest post about Growing Up Catholic. In my experience, the blind obedience to the authorities and rituals was a set up for the passive and vulnerable personality that led to later abuse. I recently watched the movie “Doubt” again. Set in 1964, in the Bronx borough of New York City (filmed in an actual Catholic Church and parochial school), the movie illustrates the child sex abuse dynamics that can occur in this institution. If one is unfamiliar with the horrible crime of children being abused by priests, then I recommend this movie as an accurate depiction. Why watch “Doubt”? Because what is seen in this film is not only a matter of the dark ages; it’s also relevant to the here and now. http://bit.ly/x6w37X

    Like

Leave a Reply

Women Writers, Women's Books

Interweaving the Conversation, Deepening the Connection

Alan's Blog

Get what you need here.

Dr Goat's Blog

Putting hoof to keyboard to bring you views from the farmyard on public health, public mental health and related issues. And goats. These views are my own, and do not represent those of any organisations or endorse any political perspective - but whatever I'm eating may have been stolen.

Social Anxiety Revealed

the blog of the book

the free psychotherapy network

free psychotherapy for people on low incomes and benefits

An' de walls came tumblin' down

about writing and social anxiety

BeaconLit

The yearly literary festival in the heart of Buckinghamshire

Keeptheban- news

Campaigning to protect the 2004 Hunting Act

more follows

Because politics isn't just something that happens in the Palace of Westminster

the main offender

Tales of living with borderline personality disorder, working in mental health and all the bits in between.

sdbast

Just another WordPress.com site

sunnyclaribel

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

victimfocus

Exploring best practice and research in sexual violence. A loud voice in the fight against victim blaming. Written and Managed by Jessica Eaton, Doctoral Researcher in Forensic Psychology

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

Cortical Chauvinism

A site discussing autism related issues

Not quite curvy; definitely real

Tales of a mental mental health campaigner...

BOOKS FROM DUSK TILL DAWN

Each night I travel the world, I live in the minds of killers and walk at the side of heros.

